The Five Minute Experiment

Welcome to Day #2 of my blog!

Today my husband Jeff and I began an experiment with our middle son.  Since I am posting this blog to the general public, I guess I shouldn’t use his real name… so let’s go with Buster. That was his nickname when he was a baby, and even though he’s 25 now,  I still smile when I remember him as my little Buster.

So, here’s a quick background on li’l Buster. He has autism spectrum disorder, and of our three children, is the most impacted by his disability.   Since graduating from high school (where he spent 100% of his time in special education) Buster has been “baby-stepping” his way through college.  He recently earned an associates degree from Montgomery College and is now attending UMBC as an engineering major.  Buster began living on campus this year, which was a big change for all of us. Things have been going relatively smoothly, but not without some bumps in the road.

One of Buster’s difficulties is with time management. He is easily distracted and forgets to complete important tasks….  things like meeting with his adviser, registering for classes, or refilling his prescriptions. It would be much easier for us to do some of these things for him, but alas, if we have any hope of launching him into adulthood, he needs to learn to manage his own life.  Because Buster is still in the process of learning these skills, I have been meeting regularly with him on the weekends to review his calendar and discuss priorities for the coming week.  For those of you who have children like Buster, you won’t be surprised to hear that he is not very fond of our meetings. He thinks I am a big nag and he can’t understand why I would torture him with these long, boring, pointless meetings. Poor Buster! Often during these long, pointless meetings, we discover he hasn’t done any of the things he has agreed to do.  Nothing! Nada! Clearly this system hasn’t been working.

So, here’s our five minute experiment….

Jeff suggested we try a method he uses at work, called SCRUM. I am not going to explain it here because, quite honestly, I don’t understand most of it. But the bottom line is that Jeff has daily SCRUM meetings with his coworkers where they discuss (1) what they completed the day before, (2) what they are currently working on, and (3) any roadblocks they have encountered along the way.  These meetings are intended to be very short.

We presented the SCRUM idea to Buster.  It would mean daily meetings, but they would be very short. Since Buster is a big fan of short meetings, he said he would give it a try.  We agreed to call him every day at 10:25 am for a five minute “SCRUM” meeting. We started with a phone call this morning, and so far so good! Of course, this is just the beginning. We’ll see what happens over the next few months.

I am writing about this experiment so my followers (all three of you!) will hold us accountable, and perhaps we can find out together whether this method might be an effective strategy to use with our kids.  If it’s a big flop, perhaps my genius followers will help me come up with something better.  You guys are smart… I’m counting on you!

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Five Minute Experiment”

  1. I have similar problems with my 20 year old who does not have autism like your Buster. She does the same kinds of behaviors at college. Forgets to send me the bill, forgets to sign up for classes. For her study abroad, she didn’t even complete the paperwork !! I had to do that. I will call her , “sweet pea”, since that was her nickname when she was a baby. Sweet Pea is 20 and acts like she is 6 years old. I often wonder if it is the undeveloped brain?!
    The way I deal with sweet pea is through texting because phone calls and face to face meetings would probably end up as shouting matches.
    Sooooo, I incessantly nag her via text.
    I agree with your sentiment you expressed about where we draw the line between “letting them fail and learn” and “stepping in” to save them from their own dumb asses.
    I’ve had to draw categories to prevent myself from getting too involved. If she doesn’t have food, that’s her problem. But a big problem where I will get involved is when the School bill hasn’t been forwarded and she’s going to get kicked out. Her school does not notify the parents of anything because they claim they are ADULTS. I laughed at the lady on the phone when she told me that. I said “college is nothing but a giant pre-release center (like the kind prisoners go to before they get released into society).”
    I’m sick and tired of having to take care of my adult kids. It makes me feel angry and resentful. Get your ass in gear or live in the gutter !!!!!! Sweet Pea has 1 and a half years to figure it all out.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments! You have reminded me that this is not just a “special needs” problem. It is common to all parents, at least on some level. That’s an interesting idea about drawing categories in determining when to intervene and when not to. Do you actually write these down? I often find it difficult to decide which things are important enough to intervene. Most often, I err on the side of doing too much. In the case of Buster missing his meds, if he doesn’t take them for a few days, he is in danger of melting down at an inopportune time. This could have significant consequences, such as being fired from his part-time job or getting kicked out of a class. But I am beginning to let go more and more, and let him deal with the fallout. Sometimes a painful consequence is the best teacher. This certainly has been true in my own life! If Sweet Pea didn’t get to study abroad because she neglected to complete the necessary paperwork, it would be extremely painful, but I suspect she would learn some valuable lessons about taking responsibility for her own life. As boring as paperwork may be, it is a necessary part of adulthood. Allowing her to miss this opportunity may not be something you are willing to let happen, but I think it is always good to consider all options, since there are inherent consequences every time we intervene and do things for them.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. And dumb sweet pea never checked to see if her Stafford loan was applied to her account. I just got off the phone with the school payment office.
        I only intervene if something is going to cost me money, otherwise she will have to deal with the fallout. But I’m not paying with my hard earned money for her mistakes. Also, I want to keep her in college and GONE on the study abroad so I can have a break from her for 5 months.
        I categorize my Help for her based upon the convenience/inconvenience to me personally.
        I think you have hit upon a very important topic in this blog: transitioning our kids to adulthood. It’s really hard to do. I feel like I’m dealing with a 2 year old.
        Buster definitely needs more intervention than sweet pea because he is special needs. I’m more apt to let sweet pea rot in the gutter.

        Like

      2. Yes, it is very hard to transition kids to adulthood! Maybe part of it is just staying in the game even when you are at your wit’s end. And I can tell this is what you are doing. Even through your anger, you are staying the course. And it sounds like you are taking care of yourself, which is very important! She will grow up and you will like her again someday, promise!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Super idea! I have used the SCRUM technique in a work settings and I definitely think it could apply successfully to these meetings with Buster. Let us know how it continues to go!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So glad to see you writing about your experiences here! I’ll comment in more detail when it’s not 2am! 😁 Congratulations on your blog. Looking forward to following you!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think that by furthering our own selves it allows our kids to pull away. I think they want us to thrive as much as we want to see THEM thrive ! I have been dabbling in some interesting investment and employment that prior to kids, I would have never done. One of my daughters made an interested comment in my investment Curiosity. And it caught my eye that they want us to be invested in bettering ourselves. This leaves everyone guilt free and available to pursue our own goals without judgment and interference.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment